a blur of love, lansinoh, and little sleep that spans 5 weeks

I can’t believe my baby boy is 5 weeks already! Where has time gone? The last 5 weeks of pregnancy were eternal…and these past 5 weeks have been a blur. Tim and I like to joke that it’s still January 18th, it’s just been a really long day with naps. 🙂

Breastfeeding is going so much better. SO much. I am so thankful. I was really very seriously about ready to throw in the towel and it made me just sick. I hated having to supplement formula. It smells like a multivitamin. And it is so flipping expensive. It just made me sick. But something just clicked and Sam and I figured it out for the most part. I was so happy to discover that last week, the first week we have not had to supplement anything — formula or breastmilk I had pumped — that he gained MORE than when we were supplementing. 🙂 I still have to use to shield, but I am hoping that one of these days he’ll figure out how to latch without it. And, even if he doesn’t ever figure it out, it’s not the end of the world.

We started cloth diapers today. So far so good. No leaks or blowouts yet. I don’t know if we are going to use them at night yet or not. I am not sure how to deal with possible leaks/blowouts when he sleeps for longer stretches of time at night. This morning he slept from 5:30am to 9:30! I feel like a new person with 4 hours of uninteruppted sleep. It helps that we have figured out how to nurse lying down. I fall asleep and he falls asleep when he is done and it works out nicely.

I just love this little guy. It’s amazing how something you love so completely can still make you love them even more every day, every hour.

One response to “a blur of love, lansinoh, and little sleep that spans 5 weeks

  1. Gabe leaks sometimes in cloth, I hear that a wool soaker (cover) will keep that from happening. Glad to hear nursing is going better, trust me it’s worth all the hard work.

Leave a Reply

