Nesting?

I just…

  • cleaned the kitchen
  • loaded and ran the dishwasher
  • cleaned out the fridge
  • put a load of laundry
  • washed the inside of the trash can in the kitchen
  • cleaned out my purse
  • de-cluttered the kitchen table (alas, it is one of the Hot Spots in my home where clutter gathers)

I am either nesting, or trying to distract myself from the reality of last night’s results. I told myself I wouldn’t get this way, but I have been CRANKY all day. Cranky and worried and mad. None of those responses glorify God very much.

I have been trying to reflect on 1 Timothy 2:1-6 —

First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth. For there is one God, and there is one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all, which is the testimony given at the proper time.

I think it is interesting that Paul says here it is by praying for those in authorities that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life. Praying for whomever God has placed in authorities over us. Paul doesn’t say that we should try to live a peaceful and godly life if the right candidate is elected, or if the king is a good king. We’re just commanded to pray, and go about our lives. This pleases Him.

I am fairly certain that the anger and worry and discontentment and frustration I have exhibited in the past 24 hours has not been pleasing to Him.

The other verse that has been running through my mind is one of my favorites. 1 Peter 4:19–

Therefore let those who suffer according to God’s will entrust their souls to a faithful Creator while doing good.

Pray for President Obama. Pray for Congress. Then entrust my soul and the soul of my baby boy and the soul of my husband to God who is faithful, and do good.

One response to “Nesting?

  1. I was in a bad mood this morning too just brooding over the results till I remembered that God is unchanging and is in control. Didn’t make me glad about the results but Scripture’s reminders are so helpful to give thanks at all times.

    Oh and the nesting–it is such a good thing becaue believe me when your little Sam bundle comes you won’t have the energy to be doing all that cleaning and organizing. Oooh sleep it becomes a precious comodity!

Leave a Reply

