Dryer sheet adventure

Last night before bed I went to get the clothes out of the dryer and actually fold them and put them away (a habit I am really striving towards, rather than just leaving the clean clothes in a basket all rumply for me to dig through later and get mad and ask Tim to help me find whatever particular shirt I had in mind for that day that I know is clean but is somewhere in this laundry basket of clean clothes. Or that one over there. No, that basket is dirty clothes…you get the picture).

Anyway, when I opened the dryer and began pulling clothes out one by one and folding them, I pulled out what I thought was the used dryer sheet to throw away. Except that then I found another one. And another one. And another one. And a few more. What is going on? I wondered. I mean, I can understand missing the used one for a few loads so that 2 or 3 were floating around in here, but this was getting ridiculous. I pulled out at least 20 used dryer sheets before I realized what the problem was.

Somehow, the entire box of dryer sheets had gotten in the dryer. That’s right, folks, I used up at least half a box of dryer sheets in one load.

I am fairly certain I have had this particular box of dryer sheets since when I left for college for the first time, which was 6 years ago now because I am old. So it wasn’t a huge deal, I guess, although I would have liked to space them out a bit longer (like until Sam goes to college).

I have no idea how the box got in there. No idea. We have a stackable washer and dryer in our apartment, so the dryer sheet box goes on top of the dryer, which is the top, if that makes sense. So it couldn’t have fallen in there by accident, unless some pretty hefty laws of physics were broken in the process.

The only conclusion that makes any sense whatsoever is that I somehow absent-mindedly threw the box in the dryer when I put the wet clothes in there to dry.

And people wonder if pregnancy bran really exists? Yes, kids, it does, and I have really fragrant laundry to prove it.

3 responses to “Dryer sheet adventure

  1. Hahha! That is great. Yes…I believe it too. I keep jumbling up my words when I try to talk. Things don’t come out right. That isn’t normal either. I have heard that babies take some of the fatty acids and nutrients from Mom’s brains so there is science behind it. More reasons to eat those good fats! Huh! 🙂

    Thanks for your comment earlier too. I checked out that website. Lots of good information. And your right I think women’s bodies know how much they should gain. If women are eating to fullness and eating healthy whole foods thier bodies will gain the right amount.

  2. Ha! Too funny! Yes, pregnancy brain does exist. I’m actually still claiming that I have it and it’s been almost 4 years since I was last pregnant. 🙂

  3. Yes it is true and the sad news is that it never goes away. I have tons of stories from my first pregnancy and being pregnant with a 2 year old just makes it worse.

Leave a Reply

