Most fantastic pork chop recipe ever.

When I was growing up, because my mom is allergic to chicken, we ate a ton of ground beef and pork chops. My dad got on this kick where we had pork chops on the grill seasoned with smoked hickory seasoning seriously what seemed like every day for years. So as I left their house and went out on my own, I never really had any desire to purchase and cook pork chops.

However. Food is so expensive, and pork chops are cheap, and finally, the cost-effectiveness of pork chops won me over. So, tonight, I tried out a recipe I found on allrecipes.com that called for pork chops.

The result? WIN.

This recipe was amazingly good. So, gentle readers, I have decided to post the recipe for your benefit!

Pleasant Pork Chops

INGREDIENTS

  • 6 pork chops (I used 4 boneless)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3/4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 bay leaf (I didn’t have any, so I just left it out)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons paprika

DIRECTIONS

  1. Saute onion and garlic in hot butter. Remove from skillet. (I didn’t remove the onions and garlic) Trim excess fat from chops and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Brown chops in skillet; pour off fat.
  2. Lower heat, add bay leaf and chicken broth. Cook covered over low heat for 1 hour. (I cut the cooking time down to about 30 minutes) Transfer chops to a serving plate, but keep them hot.
  3. Heat juices in skillet and reduce to half. Add the sour cream, onion-garlic mixture and paprika, blending thoroughly. Heat through, but don’t boil. Pour over pork chops and serve.

I also cooked up some egg noodles and served the pork chops and the gravy over the noodles.

AWESOME. Tim liked it, too!

Leave a Reply

