Daddy-to-be Birkel

So. I’m going to be a daddy (note that I’m going to be a daddy, not a poppa – though some people say that makes them want to call me a poppa even more).

Wow. I’m not even sure where to begin. It’s strange, when Alissa first told me, it was like this whole thing was happening to someone else. It was only after I told my parents, my sister, my grandparents, friends, and people at work that it seemed real. The more people I tell about our baby bean birkel (which is how we refer to our baby at present, it being the size of a bean. Poor child will probably be stuck with that as a nickname long after we’ve given him or her an actual name) the more real it becomes. And the more excited I get.

Which, make no mistake, I am excited. Before we found out Alissa was preganant, I was thinking of having kids in two years. But now, I think 26-year-old Tim probably would have thought the same thing. Oh, we’ll have kids in two more years. I don’t know that I’d ever have gotten “ready” to have a baby. It’s just so huge, and life-altering and I, for one, am not terribly good with massive changes. But I am ok with having a baby. Most definitely.

I have noticed that I’ve become hyper-protective and worried about Alissa. For example: last night, Alissa had trouble sleeping (see the Boobie Fairy post). I woke up at 3:30, and there was no Alissa in bed with me. Now, since we work different shifts, this isn’t that unusual. Sometimes, Alissa won’t come to bed until 2, sometimes she gets up at 5, it’s just the way we do things. But last night, I immediately had to get up and find her. And of course, she was just sitting on the couch writing on this blog, and my worry was needless. But I think that’s just going to get more pronounced throughout her pregnancy.

In other news, despite an intial warning from our realtor that we might have a hard time finding a loan, lenders have been throwing offers at us like there’s no tomorrow. Now, I just have to decipher what they all mean, find a house, close on a loan, move in, buy stuff for the nursery, decorate the baby room…and on and on.

Everything is happening so fast. And everything that is happening so fast is so wonderful. I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time. Baby Bean Birkel, you are loved very much, even now, by your mommy and daddy. See you in 8 months!

One response to “Daddy-to-be Birkel

  1. Hey, you have a great blog here!

    I’m definitely going to bookmark you!

    IT IS AMAZING and GREAT post .. PLEASE Keep BLOGGING …

    I have this article which is releated to your post
    Decorating a Kid’s Room
    http://www.taminapark.com/pages/9974.html
    You can comment also 🙂

    Thans & Regards
    Salem

Leave a Reply

